Neuer Wearables-Ansatz der FDA: Moticon Sensorsohlen für Gangdatenbank mit Patienten bei neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen

Eine der neuesten klinischen Studien des Office of Science and Engineering Labs der FDA zielt darauf ab, die Bewertung neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen mit Hilfe der kabelloser Sensorsohlen von Moticon und anderen am Körper getragenen Sensoren zu fördern.

Zusammenfassung

Das Office of Science and Engineering Labs der FDA hat eine klinische Studie initiiert, um die Bewertung neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen mittels einer frei zugängliche Gangdatenbank unter Verwendung der kabellosen Sensorsohlen von Moticon fördern. Die erste Validierungsphase für wichtige Gangparameter zeigte vielversprechende Ergebnisse, auf die nun eine multizentrische klinische Studie zur Datenerfassung folgt. Die OpenGo Sensorsohlen von Moticon wurden als repräsentative Technologie im Bereich professioneller Wearables für die medizinische Forschung und aufgrund einer Reihe von Veröffentlichungen im Zusammenhang mit neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen ausgewählt (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6).

Warum die FDA an Wearables interessiert ist

Der Einsatz von Wearables als medizinische Geräte zur Überwachung von Gangveränderungen während des Krankheitsverlaufs und zur Bewertung der Wirksamkeit bestimmter therapeutischer Maßnahmen ist ein aufstrebender Bereich der Medizintechnik, der das Interesse der Forscher im Office of Science and Engineering Labs (OSEL) der FDA geweckt hat.

Dr. Kimberly Kontson, eine leitende Wissenschaftlerin des OSEL-Forschungsprogramms für Neurologie, ist zusammen mit einem Team von Ärzten Teil einer institutionsübergreifenden Längsschnittstudie mit Johns Hopkins Medicine (PI: Dr. Ankur Butala) und der Veterans Health Administration (PI: Dr. Brittney Muir), bei der am Körper getragene Sensoren und Sensorsohlen während des Gangs bei Personen mit neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen eingesetzt werden.

Herausforderungen bei neuartigen Gang-Algorithmen zur Bewertung des Fortschreitens neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen

Das OSEL der FDA setzt sich für die Entwicklung von Instrumentarien im Rahmen von wissenschaftlich-regulatorischen Ansätzen ein, um die Entwicklung und Bewertung neuer medizinischer Technologien zu fördern. Im Rahmen des OSEL-Auftrags besteht ein Hauptziel dieser Studie darin, einen frei zugänglichen Datensatz zu entwickeln, der als Instrument der Zulassungsbehörden für die Entwicklung und Bewertung neuartiger Algorithmen zur Ableitung von Gangparameter durch Wearables genutzt werden kann.

Der Aufbau dieses frei zugänglichen Datensatzes ist in hohem Maße gerechtfertigt, um gleichzeitig mehrere Anforderungen im Hinblick auf personalisierte Versorgungsansätze zu erfüllen:

  • Testen der Fähigkeiten neuartiger digitaler Signalverarbeitungs- und maschineller Lerntechnologien
  • Förderung der Entwicklung von Werkzeugen zur Diagnoseunterstützung, um letztlich den Zeit- und Testaufwand für die Erstellung einer Diagnose zu verringern
  • Bereitstellung leicht reproduzierbarer und objektiverer Biomarker für die Längsschnittentwicklung in klinischen Studien

Professional Wearables ermöglichen die Entwicklung einer frei zugänglichen Gangdatenbank

Die Studie verwendet die Moticon OpenGo Sensorsohlen als repräsentative Technologie für Innenschuh-Druckmesssysteme. Die Forscher planen, den frei zugänglichen Datensatz mit den Rohdaten der Moticon-Sensorsohlen und den Rohdaten der intertialen Messeinheit (3-Achsen-Beschleunigungsmessung und Rotationsgeschwindigkeit) zu erstellen, die mit einem Gangreferenzsystem synchronisiert und mit klinischen Bewertungen während genau kommentierter, standardisierter Gangaufgaben verknüpft werden.

Ergebnisse der Validierungsphase

A preliminary evaluation of concurrent validity of the Moticon sensor insoles to report on spatiotemporal such as stride length, swing time, step time, and double support time was completed and presented at the FDA’s Annual Student Scientific Research Day in August 2023.

Die Einlagen neigten dazu, den räumlichen Parameter der Schrittlänge um durchschnittlich 7 cm zu überschätzen, wobei die 95-%-Grenzen der Übereinstimmung (LoA) zwischen -7,4 cm und 21 cm lagen. Auch die Schwungphase wurde von den Einlagen leicht überschätzt, mit einer mittleren Abweichung von 0,08 Sekunden und LoA zwischen -0,11 und 0,26 Sekunden. Die anderen zeitlichen Parameter der Schrittzeit und der doppelten Stützzeit wurden von den Einlagen um 0,05 bzw. 0,15 Sekunden unterschätzt. Bei allen Messwerten mit Ausnahme der Schwungphase lagen alle Punkte innerhalb der 95%-Grenzen der Übereinstimmung.

Haftungsausschluss

Die Erwähnung kommerzieller Produkte, ihrer Quellen oder ihrer Verwendung in Verbindung mit dem hier berichteten Material ist weder als tatsächliche noch als stillschweigende Befürwortung dieser Produkte durch das Ministerium für Gesundheit und Humandienste zu verstehen.

Dr. Kimberly Konston, PI

Der zuvor aufgeführte Artikel wurde am 13. August 2023 genehmigt. Die folgenden Informationen werden von Moticon bereitgestellt und sind nicht Teil des autorisierten Artikels.

Tipps für die klinische Forschung

Die vorgestellte Studie umfasste Multisensor-Datenerfassungen, was in der klinischen Forschung häufig vorkommt. Die von den OpenGo Sensorsohlen von Moticon erzeugten Daten können mit anderen Quellen für die Bewegungsanalyse kombiniert werden, z. B. mit Sensoren, die am Oberkörper getragen werden. Die IMU-Sensoren von Movella sind ein herausragendes Beispiel hierfür. In der Studie wurde eine Prototyp-Version von Moticon’s neuem Produkt OpenGo Sync Box verwendet, um die Daten der OpenGo-Sensorsohlen zu Validierungszwecken mit anderen Sensorsystemen zu synchronisieren.

OpenGo Sync Box

Die OpenGo Sync Box ist ein handliches, eigenständiges Gerät, das mit der OpenGo-App an das mobile Gerät angeschlossen wird. Die Spezifikationen beinhalten Standard-TTL-Spannungssignale bei Start und Stopp einer Messung. Die nächsten Software-Updates für das Produkt umfassen eine Funktion zur Annahme von Eingangs-Trigger-Signalen von anderen MOCAP-Systemen sowie drahtlose Synchronisierungsoptionen über BLE und Wifi.

Referenzen

(1) Tsakanikas, V., et al. 2023. Evaluating Gait Impairment in Parkinson’s Disease from Instrumented Insole and IMU Sensor Data. Sensors, v. 23, issue 8, 10.3390/s23083902. DOI: https://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/23/8/3902
(2) Channa, A., et al. 2022. Parkinson’s Disease Gait Evaluation Leveraging Wearable Insoles and Deep Learning Approach. 8th Int. CoDIT: Istanbul. DOI: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9804064
(3) Chatazaki, Ch., et al. 2022. Can Gait Features Help in Differentiating Parkinson’s Disease Medication States and Severity Levels? A Machine Learning Approach. Sensors, v. 22, issue 24, 10.3390/s22249937. DOI: https://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/22/24/9937
(4) Gatsios, D., et al. 2021. Design of a clinical decision support system powered by mhealth for the management of Parkinson’s disease. 6th SEEDA-CECNSM: Preveza. DOI: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9566260
(5) Chatzaki, Ch., et al. 2021. The Smart-Insole Dataset: Gait Analysis Using Wearable Sensors with a Focus on Elderly and Parkinson’s Patients. Sensors, v. 21, issue 8, 10.3390/s21082821. DOI: https://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/21/8/2821
(6) Tsakanikas, V. D., et al. 2021. Gait and balance patterns related to Free-Walking and TUG tests in Parkinson’s Disease based on plantar pressure data. 43rd EMBC: Online. DOI: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9629637

Teile via

Sei immer einen Schritt voraus!

Abonniere unseren Newsletter für die neuesten Informationen zu Fallstudien, Webinaren, Produkt-Updates und Neuigkeiten bei Moticon

Select your desired system

The cutting edge test based outcome assessment system for health professionals and trainers

The most versatile toolkit for free data acquisition and comprehensive analytics in research

Have a general inquiry?

Write us a message for general questions about products and solutions or if you’d like to discuss other topics.


Wähle Deine Produktelinie

Mobile Ganganalysen und sportmotorische Tests für Trainer und Therapeuten – objektiv und effizient.

Das flexible System für freie Datenerfassung und fortgeschrittene Analysen in der Forschung.

Du möchtest eine Anfrage stellen?

Schreibe uns eine Nachricht zu allgemeinen Fragen über Produkte oder zu anwendungsbezogenen Themen, die Du besprechen möchtest.


Das Formular wurde erfolgreich gesendet.

Wir werden uns in Kürze mit dir in Verbindung setzen.

moticon-rego-sensor-insole-live-event

Immer einen Schritt voraus!

Abonniere unseren Newsletter für die neuesten Informationen zu Fallstudien, Webinaren, Produkt-Updates und Neuigkeiten bei Moticon

Hole dir Unterstützung

Finde Antworten zu den häufigsten Fragen in unseren FAQ

Beschreibe Dein Problem so detailliert wie möglich. Hänge Screenshots oder Daten an, sofern das hilfreich ist.


Need help?
Want a live demo?
Interested in prices?
Want to say hello?
Always just a call away
+49 89 2000 301 60
Du brauchst Unterstützung?
Du möchtest eine Live Demo?
Interessiert an Preisen?
Du hast Fragen?
Nur einen Anruf entfernt
+49 89 2000 301 60

The form was sent successfully.

You will be contacted shortly.

Get support

Check our FAQ database for answers to frequently asked questions

Describe your issue in as much detail as possible. Include screenshots or files if applicable.

FDA’s new take on wearables: Moticon Sensor Insoles to assess the efficacy of therapeutic interventions for patients with neurodegenerative disease

FDA’s Office of Science and Engineering Labs has initiated a clinical study aiming at fostering neurodegenerative disease assessment and building an open-access gait database using Moticon’s wireless sensor insoles

Summary

One of the FDA’s Office of Science and Engineering Labs latest clinical studies aims at fostering neurodegenerative disease assessment using Moticon’s wireless sensor insoles and other body worn sensors. The initial validation phase for important gait metrics showed promising outcomes which is now followed by a multi-center clinical data collection trial. Moticon’s OpenGo Sensor Insoles were chosen as a representative technology in the field of professional wearables for medical research and due to a track record of publications related to neurodegenerative diseases (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6).

Why the FDA is interested in wearables

The use of wearables as medical devices to monitor changes in gait throughout disease progression and to assess the efficacy of certain therapeutic interventions is one emerging medical technology space that has sparked an interest in researchers at the FDA’s Office of Science and Engineering Labs (OSEL).

Dr. Kimberly Kontson, a principal investigator from OSELs Neurology Research Program, along with a team of investigators, are part of a multi-institutional, longitudinal study with Johns Hopkins Medicine (PI: Dr. Ankur Butala) and the Veterans Health Administration (PI: Dr. Brittney Muir) using body-worn sensors and insole sensors during gait in individuals with neurodegenerative disease.

Challenges in novel gait algorithms to assess neurodegenerative disease progression

FDA’s OSEL is committed to developing regulatory science tools that will expand the scope of innovative science-based approaches to help improve the development and assessment of emerging medical technologies. Pursuant to OSEL’s mission, a primary goal of this study is to develop an open-access dataset that can be used as a regulatory science tool for development and assessment of novel algorithms deriving gait metrics through wearables.

The establishment of this open-access dataset is highly justified to meet several needs simultaneously on a more precise and personalized scale:

  • Testing the capabilities of novel digital signal processing and machine learning technologies
  • Fostering the development of diagnosis support tools, ultimately reducing the time and testing necessary to establish a diagnosis
  • Providing easily reproducible and more objective biomarkers to trend longitudinally in clinical trials

Professional wearables enable open-access gait database development

The study is using the Moticon OpenGo insole pressure sensors as a representative technology for insole pressure measurements. Researchers plan to curate the open-access dataset with raw sensor data from the Moticon insoles and raw inertial measurement unit sensor data (3-axis accelerometry and rotational velocity) synchronized to a gait reference system and associated with clinical evaluations during accurately annotated standardized gait tasks.

Achievements of the validation phase

A preliminary evaluation of concurrent validity of the Moticon sensor insoles to report on spatiotemporal such as stride length, swing time, step time, and double support time was completed and presented at the FDA’s Annual Student Scientific Research Day in August 2023.

The insoles tended to overestimate the spatial parameter of stride length by a mean of 7 cm with 95% limits of agreement (LoA) between -7.4 cm and 21 cm. Swing time was also slightly overestimated by the insoles with a mean bias of 0.08 seconds and LoA between -0.11 and 0.26 seconds. The other temporal parameters of step time and double support time were underestimated by the insoles by 0.05 and 0.15 seconds, respectively. For all measures except swing time, all points fell within the 95% limits of agreement.

Disclaimer

The mention of commercial products, their sources, or their use in connection with material reported herein is not to be construed as either an actual or implied endorsement of such products by the Department of Health and Human Services.

Dr. Kimberly Konston, PI

Afore listed article was authorized on August 13th, 2023. The following information is provided by Moticon and not part of the authorized article.

Tips for clinical research

The study presented in this story included multi-sensor data collections, which is a frequent setup in clinical research. For such applications, the data generated by Moticon’s OpenGo Sensor Insoles can be combined with other sources of movement analysis such as sensors worn on the upper body. Movella’s IMU sensors are one outstanding example. The study presented here used a prototype version of Moticon’s new OpenGo Sync Box product in order to synchronize OpenGo Sensor Insole data with other sensor systems for validation purposes, which was later transformed by the Moticon development team into a standard OpenGo product.

OpenGo Sync Box

The OpenGo Sync Box is a handy standalone device which connects to the mobile device with the OpenGo App. Specifications include standard TTL voltage signal output on start and stop of a measurement. The next software updates for the product will include a feature for accepting input trigger signals from other MOCAP systems as well as wireless sync options via BLE and Wifi.

References

(1) Tsakanikas, V., et al. 2023. Evaluating Gait Impairment in Parkinson’s Disease from Instrumented Insole and IMU Sensor Data. Sensors, v. 23, issue 8, 10.3390/s23083902. DOI: https://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/23/8/3902
(2) Channa, A., et al. 2022. Parkinson’s Disease Gait Evaluation Leveraging Wearable Insoles and Deep Learning Approach. 8th Int. CoDIT: Istanbul. DOI: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9804064
(3) Chatazaki, Ch., et al. 2022. Can Gait Features Help in Differentiating Parkinson’s Disease Medication States and Severity Levels? A Machine Learning Approach. Sensors, v. 22, issue 24, 10.3390/s22249937. DOI: https://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/22/24/9937
(4) Gatsios, D., et al. 2021. Design of a clinical decision support system powered by mhealth for the management of Parkinson’s disease. 6th SEEDA-CECNSM: Preveza. DOI: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9566260
(5) Chatzaki, Ch., et al. 2021. The Smart-Insole Dataset: Gait Analysis Using Wearable Sensors with a Focus on Elderly and Parkinson’s Patients. Sensors, v. 21, issue 8, 10.3390/s21082821. DOI: https://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/21/8/2821
(6) Tsakanikas, V. D., et al. 2021. Gait and balance patterns related to Free-Walking and TUG tests in Parkinson’s Disease based on plantar pressure data. 43rd EMBC: Online. DOI: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9629637

Share via

Stay one step ahead!

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on case studies, product updates and company news

Select your desired system

The cutting edge test based outcome assessment system for health professionals and trainers

The most versatile toolkit for free data acquisition and comprehensive analytics in research

Have a general inquiry?

Write us a message for general questions about products and solutions or if you’d like to discuss other topics.


moticon-rego-sensor-insole-live-event

Stay one step ahead!

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on case studies, webinars, product updates and company news

The form was sent successfully.

You will be contacted shortly.

Get support

Check our FAQ database for answers to frequently asked questions

Describe your issue in as much detail as possible. Include screenshots or files if applicable.


Need help?
Want a live demo?
Interested in prices?
Want to say hello?
Always just a call away
+49 89 2000 301 60